RESEARCH, DEVELOPMENT AND EQUIPMENT COMMITTEE

Annual Report to the School of Education Policy Council

Committee Members

Jeffrey Anderson, Cathy Brown (ex officio), Gretchen Butera, Frank Lester (Chair), Mitzi Lewison, Terry Ochoa, Charles Reigeluth, Tom Sexton, Anne Stright, and Andrea Walton

The primary activity of the committee is to make awards to faculty who have applied for Proffitt grants and to award the Most Outstanding Dissertation Award. Proffitt grant competitions are held 3 times each year (Fall, Spring and Summer). The dissertation award is given annually. Results of the two of the three Proffitt grant competitions have been determined as follows:

<u>Proffitt Fall 2004 Competition</u> [4 awards (1 as a supplemental*)]

Name: Don Cunningham & Suzanne Sanborn*

Title: "Assessing the Effects of a Virtual Field Experience*"

Name: James Damico & H. Gerald Campano

Title: "Creating, Implementing and Evaluating Internet-Based Literacy Tools With the Critical Web"

Name: Robert Kunzman

Title: "Religion, Homeschooling and Civic Education: Implications for American Democracy"

Name: Joshua Smith

Title: "Longitudinal Study of the Transition to High School"

Proffitt Summer Faculty Fellowships 2005 [4 awards]

Name: Peter Cowan

Title: "Latino Visual Discourse and Life Stories"

Name: Bradley Levinson

Title: "Ecologies & Policy Learning for Integrating Immigrant Newcomers: Ethnographic Communities & School

Studies in Central Indiana"

Name: Rebecca Martinez

Title: "Research Generated for the Academic Well-check Program: Year 1"

Name: Andy Norton

Title: "Mathematics Recovery Project"

Note: Awards for the Spring Proffitt Competition and the Most Outstanding Dissertation will be made in May.

Other Activities and Decisions

The committee made various revisions to the Proffitt internal grants competition guidelines and decided that it was no longer appropriate to make decisions on allocation of equipment. In future, the committee will be known as the *Research* and *Development Committee*.

The Committee will meet for the final time for the 2004-05 academic year during May.

Respectfully submitted,

Frank K. Lester, Jr.