### Faculty Development Committee - Annual Report, 2014-2015

Committee Members 2014-2015 Academic Year

Adam Maltese	C&I	Bloomington	2013-2016
Sharon Daley	LCLE	Bloomington	2014-2017
Gina Yoder	C&I	IUPUI	2014-2017
Sylvia Martinez	ELPS	Bloomington	2014-2017
(Chair)			
Mary Piontek	CEEP	Bloomington	2012-2015
Hannah Schertz	C&I	Bloomington	2012-2015
Barry Chung	CEP	Bloomington	2014-2015
Dubravka Svetina	CEP	Bloomington	2012-2015
Evan Mickey		Bloomington	Student
Letha Taylor		Bloomington	Staff
Joyce Alexander		Bloomington	Ex-Officio

The Faculty Development Committee met 8 times during the 2014-2015 academic year

October 2

October 29

November 17 – New Faculty Lunch

December 3

January 26

February 23

March 23

March 30

April 13

During its October 2 meeting, the Faculty Development Committee set its agenda for 2014-2015 and elected a new chair. Below are brief summaries of the projects on which the Faculty Development Committee worked. Some of these projects, such as selecting recipients of annual teaching awards or planning invited lectures, are regular parts of the Committee's charge. Other projects, notably the work on the issue of grade inflation at the undergraduate level continued but no proposal has been submitted to Policy Council for approval.

#### New Faculty Luncheon

On November 17, 2014, the Faculty Development Committee hosted an informal lunch with new faculty members. This was the second year such a lunch gathering was hosted by the committee. The lunchtime meeting provided an opportunity to introduce new faculty members to committee members and to chat about the work of the Faculty Development Committee. New faculty members were encouraged to

provide feedback on initiatives they would like the committee to pursue. We will continue to host an informal gathering of new faculty in the fall term.

## **Course Evaluations**

The committee was tasked with reducing the number of survey questions on course evaluations as the University is switching to a new system. The original list included over 200 questions. The committee primarily eliminated duplication but also focused on including questions that truly tapped student engagement and learning in the classroom. The committee reduced the list to about 40 questions, not including those that are required (e.g., global items)

# Guest Speaker Support Fund

In the Spring of 2015, the following event of interest to the School of Education community will be funded:

\$500 Sam Pizzigati, talk titled, "Minimum Wage, Maximum Wage: New Paths to a More Equal America. May 1, 2015

#### David and Beatrice Miller Lecture Series

Dr. James D. Anderson, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign was the invited speaker for 2014-2015 through the Miller lecture series. Dr. Anderson, a noted historian of African American education visited campus on September 18-19, 2014.

During the spring semester, the committee put forth a call for nominations for the Miller lecture series. We received close to 15 nominations. The committee noticed that School of Education faculty are interested in brining a critical race scholar for the Miller lecture series. The committee is currently discussing bringing several critical race scholars for a panel rather than one speaker as is traditional.

#### **Grade Inflation Project**

The committee continued its discussion of the grade inflation issue throughout the academic year. Adam, Dubravka, and Evan presented some preliminary analyses of course evaluation data. They analyzed about 11,000 undergraduate student responses over the course of three semesters. There appears to be a clear correlation between expected grades and grades students actually receive (about .7). Correlation between expected grade and rating of course (i.e., "This course is outstanding") is weak. With little variability in grade distribution and rating of a course, it has been difficult to make strong conclusions about whether expected grade and grade distribution are correlated. The committee agrees that the pervasive perception among faculty is that there is a strong correlation between these two items.

The committee has decided to move forth with implementing an undergraduate student grading policy modeled after the graduate student policy implemented last academic year. The committee is currently working on the language and will begin discussions and feedback sessions with SofE departments in the fall of 2015.

# **Teaching Awards**

The Faculty Development Committee coordinated the nomination and selection of the teaching awards for achievement in 2014. At its January meeting, the Committee reviewed the call for nominations, rating sheets, and website descriptions of the criteria and submission procedures for the various annual teaching awards. No major changes were made to these documents with the exception of an updated due date. The Faculty Development Committee selected the following award winners:

Burton Gorman Teaching Award: Christine Leland (LCLE)

Outstanding Adjunct Award: Lucy Carspecken (CEP)

Trustees' Teaching Awards:
Amy Hackenberg (C & I)
Dionne Cross (C & I)
Suzanne Eckes (ELPS)
Jessica Lester (CEP)
Joshua Danish (CEP)
Ray Smith (LCLE)
Joel Wong (CEP)

Nomination materials for the Burton Gorman Teaching Award were also received from Barbara Dennis and Natasha Flowers. Nomination materials for the Trustees' Teaching Awards were also received from Gamze Ozogul.

The members of the Faculty Development Committee were impressed with the creativity and commitment documented in the teaching materials and evaluations that were submitted. The awards will be presented at the Celebration of Teaching, to be held on April 22, 2015.

#### **Committee Reflections and Suggestions**

The committee suggests there are still ways to streamline and improve the Gorman and Trustees' Teaching award competitions that the committee would like to take up in 2015-2016.

 Most notably, the committee noticed extensive variability in the number of support letters and course evaluations submitted by the nominees.

The committee would like to thank Joyce Alexander, Executive Associate Dean, for her help, leadership and ongoing support.

Respectfully submitted by Sylvia Martinez, Chair