Committee on Teaching: 2008-2009 Academic Year Report to Education Policy Council April 22, 2009

Committee Membership

Elizabeth Bowman, Undergraduate Student Judith Chafel Serafin Coronel-Molina Peter Cowan Tom Brush, Ex-Officio Ted Frick Catherine Gray, Chair Carol-Anne Hossler Marjorie Manifold Mary McMullen, Ex-Officio Margrethe O'Connor, Staff Roberta Parmenter, Staff Charles Reigeluth Lyndsay Spear, Graduate Student Deborah Winikates

Major Activities

The Committee on Teaching (CoT) met once in the fall, 2008, and three times in the spring, 2009. In addition to determining this year's teaching awards, Judith Chafel continued the work of the subcommittee created last year to explore how the School of Education might improve the evaluation of teaching. After significant research, the subcommittee wrote a report (<u>http://education.indiana.edu/Portals/28/Final_Report_of_the_Committee_to_Review_the_Evaluation_of_Teaching%5B1%5D.pdf</u>) which has been presented to the Policy Council for review.

Teaching Awards

Members of the CoT *independently* ranked nominees for the Trustees' Teaching Award, Outstanding Associate Instructor Award, and Outstanding Adjunct Instructor Award. Nominees submitted documentation in Oncourse drop boxes following the procedures at: http://profile.educ.indiana.edu/PolicyCouncil/CurrentCommittees/StandingCommittees/Teaching/tabid/52 4/Default.aspx . The CoT was allowed to give 7 Trustees' Awards to tenured and tenure-line faculty and one to a clinical faculty member, 5 Associate Instructor Awards, 2 Adjunct Awards, and the Gorman.

Because this year's Outstanding Adjunct Instructor award was also given to a visiting faculty member, the committee would like to clarify the definition of these two categories of instructors to see if it's more appropriate to create an additional category, before next year's nominating process.

Trustees' Award Winners

Curtis Bonk	Instructional Systems Technology
Phil Carspecken	Counseling & Educational Psychology
Laura Stachowski	Cultural Immersion Projects
Robert Toutkoushian	Educational Leadership & Policy Studies
Andrea Walton	Educational Leadership & Policy Studies
Karen Wohlwend	Literacy, Culture, & Language Education
Y. Joel Wong	Counseling & Educational Psychology

Additional Nominees for the Trustees' Award: *Valarie Akerson David Flinders Leana McClain Suzanne Eckes Ginette Delandshere

*Please note that due to technical and communication errors, the committee became aware of Valarie Akerson's nomination for this award only after this report was submitted to the Policy Council. Thus, her materials were not appropriately considered, as they should have been.

Outstanding Associate Instructor Award Winners

Nicholas Husbye	Literacy, Culture, & Language Education
Candace R. Kuby	Literacy, Culture, & Language Education
Roy J. Reynolds	Art Education / Curriculum & Instruction
Olga N. Shonia	Educational Leadership & Policy Studies
Lyndsay R. Spear	Educational Leadership & Policy Studies

Additional Nominee for the Outstanding Associate Instructor Award: Amber Friesen Laura Gatlin

Outstanding Adjunct Instructor Award Winner

Tim Davis	Counseling & Educational Psychology
Catherine Diersing	Literacy, Culture, & Language Education

Burton Gorman Teaching Award

Suzanne Eckes

Respectfully Submitted, Catherine Gray, Chair

April 22, 2009