Annual Report of the Committee on Teaching 2006-2007

Chair: Carrie Chapman (Spring 2007)

Members: Jinsob Choi, Tom Duffy, Suzanne Eckes, Ted Frick, Brittany Hogue, Carol-

Anne Hossler, Leana McClain, Bobbie Partenheimer, Cathy Toll, Barbara Wolf

Ex-Officio: Diana Lambdin, Mary McMullen

Past Business. The Committee's 2005-2006 recommendation that two global items from BEST be included by all faculty on their course evaluations was set to be implemented school-wide starting with the Spring 2007 semester. These items now included in all departments' and faculty course evaluation forms are:

- 1. Overall, I would rate the quality of this course as outstanding.
- 2. Overall, I would rate this instructor as outstanding.

Teaching Awards. The Committee on Teaching finalized the proposed changes to the submission requirements for the Trustees' Teaching Award (TTA) and the Outstanding Associate Instructor Award (OAIA). These changes were then written into final documents and posted along with the Gorman Teaching Award requirements on the School of Education website. Additionally, the Committee implemented an electronic format for submitting all TTA and OAIA application materials. Ted Frick set up an ONCOURSE site for each award group, with applicant's having access to only their submissions (Individual Drop Box) and the sub-committee members from the Committee on Teaching evaluating either award having access to only that particular ONCOURSE website. Feedback from sub-committee members on the electronic process and the revised submission requirements will be discussed at the final meeting of the Committee (Friday, April 20). All Gorman, Trustees' and Outstanding Associate Awards will be presented at the Celebration of Teaching on April 26 from 4:15 – 6 pm. in the School of Education Auditorium. Marjorie Ramey, a 2006-2007 Armstrong Teacher, and the "to be announced" Gorman Teaching Award winner will be the key note speakers at the event.

Activities Pending.

- 1. Further improvement of the Gorman, TTA, and OAIA components and submission process should be discussed. This should include issues of reliability of components for evaluation, electronic issues of ease and confidentiality. Continued use of Ted Frick's document:

 http://www.indiana.edu/~tedfrick/TALQ.pdf may inform this discussion further.
- 2. Discussion on the topic of course evaluation and evaluating teaching should be continued with the Curriculum and Instruction interest group. Carol-Anne

Hossler is a member of our Committee and the C & I sub-group. Further interaction and work between the Committee and that group may be warranted.

- 3. The Committee should continue to learn what other schools across campus have done regarding limiting the amount of times the TTA can be won, and if there are any ways to move long-time winners of the teaching award into a more "mentor or master teacher status" within the School. This is a continued item from the previous year.
- 4. Discussion should be warranted on what other means of focus on quality teaching within the School of Education can be instituted. As in the past, workshops, presentations, peer-mentoring, or other avenues should be explored as possibilities.