## Committee on Teaching Final Report to Policy Council – 2004-05

**2005 Teaching Awards.** As part of its regular business, the Committee on Teaching monitors as well as updates the SOE's website relative to deadlines, submission procedures, and criteria that will be used. This year 10 faculty and 12 associate instructors submitted dossiers for the SOE's teaching awards. To review these awards, the committee divided itself into two groups, with one group reviewing the faculty awards and another group reviewing the associate instructor awards. To avoid conflicts of interest, members of the committee who were nominated for teaching awards by their departments automatically became members of the AI Teaching Award Subcommittee. In addition, we included last year's winner of the Gorman Teaching Award, Enid Zimmerman, to review faculty dossiers in order to bring in an external perspective. This also done to address concerns that members of the Committee tend to win many of the teaching awards. Seven faculty and five associate instructors were identified for receipt of 2004 teaching awards:

Gorman Award: Jerome Harste

Trustee's Teaching Awards:

Barbara Bickelmeyer, Curt Bonk, Suzanne Eckes, Rob Kunzman, Martha McCarthy, Leana McClain, and Troy Sadler.

AI Awards:

Erin Carr-Vincent, Martin Jones, Amy Steketee, Wendi Tai, and Dawn Whitehead.

**Celebration of Teaching.** Each year the School of Education honors faculty receiving teaching awards in a special ceremony. In addition to identifying recipients, the Committee on Teaching works with Dr. Diana Lambdin in identifying speakers and preparing the program. This year's celebration will be held on April 28, from 3:30 to 5:00 in the Auditorium. Molly Seward, 2005 Indiana Teacher of the Year and 2004 Armstrong Teacher Educator will keynote.

## Other Business.

**Review of Selection Procedures for AI Teaching Awards.** The committee discussed procedures and criteria used for the selection of this year's AI award recipients. We decided that next year we will explicate on the website that AIs are to submit all teaching evaluations, because some included evaluations from only select semesters. We also will include more guidelines with respect to what is expected in the essay. As one means of accomplishing these aims, we have secured the permission from some of this year's ward winners to keep a copy of their dossiers as examples.

**Review of Selection Procedures for Trustee Teaching Awards.** The committee discussed procedures and criteria used for the selection of this year's Faculty Teaching Award recipients. Suggestions included asking previous award winners to serve as mentors for newer faculty nominees with regard to putting dossiers together; providing a

list of items to include in the dossier; giving the selection criteria to department chairs before the merit review process; and securing permission from some of this year's ward winners to keep a copy of their dossiers as examples.

**Master Teacher**. We discussed the issue that some faculty tends to win Trustee's awards on a regular basis. This then limits newer faculty from qualifying for awards. Our discussions related to developing a "Master Teacher" award for faculty who have won Trustees awards three times during e five-year period. They, then, would be classified as Master Teachers, and not be eligible for a Trustees Award for another five years. This item will be placed high on our agenda for next year.

Jeff Daniels, Chair.