To: The Education policy Council

From Tom Schwen, Acting Chair

Subject: Committee on Teaching 2001-02 Report

Date: April 17, 2003

The Committee on Teaching pursued two general goals this year. 1) We hoped to promote teaching through the School's awards and the Celebration of Teaching. 2) We began to develop policy so as to raise awareness of teaching priorities in normal School decision making processes.

1. The Celebration of Teaching will be different in two major ways this year. We have solicited substantive presentations by Ken Gros Louis and the Gorman winner. We have attempted to enhance the reputation of the event by the presentations, more publicity and a more professional treatment, generally. The following are the award winners with prose taken from the program.

Faculty Trustees Awards, These are our outstanding teachers of 2001. The committee found their accomplishments quite remarkable. We will ask these winners to share their insights, in various programs, with you throughout the next academic year. The committee commends these colleagues for their outstanding accomplishments. Lee Ehman, Mitzi Lewison, Martha McCarthy, Mary McMullen, Margaret Sutton, Barbara Wolf, Enid Zimmerman

Gorman award: TBA April 25th: An outstanding career contribution was evident in the file. The depth and variety of teaching contributions is quite remarkable. He has an approach to thinking about teaching that is remarkably consistent, reflective and generative. He is the prototype for this award. The sub committee felt informed and honored to read his file.

Al awards: J Beriswill, J. Enyeart, E. Bratmeier, C. Neitzel: These graduate students are living proof that collective instructional competence of the School is substantively improved by Al instruction in our undergraduate programs. There is remarkable sophistication, passion for, and sustained competence in, the teaching process that is abundantly evident in reading these files. The committee is honored to count these Teachers as colleagues.

Adjunct awards: K. Pomeroy, R. Reed: We commend the administrators who recruited these professional to teaching posts. It is quite evident that our adjunct professors bring both a rich professional perspective and impressive pedagogical skill to their teaching. The students who are fortunate enough to enjoy their teaching are exceptionally well served by these appointments.

Armstrong Teacher Educators Award.: The Armstrong Teacher Educator Program was created by a gift from Cook Group Companies to establish the *Martha Lea and Bill Armstrong Fund in Teacher Education*. This program is intended to increase involvement among teachers, Indiana University School of Education faculty, and pre-service education students. One aspect of the program allows IUB to identify a small, select group of public school teachers each year from across the state of Indiana who will work with faculty and students in our undergraduate teacher education program. As such, this program provides all of us with an opportunity to work together to address the common challenges we face as educators. For the 2002-03 academic year, 8 teachers from all parts of the state have been identified by their colleagues and administrators as being truly outstanding.

Kari A. Anderson, Eagle Park Community School, Crown Point Deborah A. Conkle, Stout Field Elementary School, Indianapolis Margaret O. DeBoer, Elkhart Memorial High School, Elkhart Debra C. McKinley, Sand Creek Elementary School, Mount Vernon Marva K. P. Moore, Hamilton Southeastern High School, Fishers Elizabeth A. Nash, Bittersweet Elementary School, Mishawaka Michelle L. Satchwell, Carmel High School, Carmel Susan Diane Strube, West Newton Elementary School, West Newton

2. The policies under discussion this year will be submitted to the policy council in the fall. We hope to be persuasive about matters of leadership, strategic planning, program development, teaching improvement planning in the departments and the like.

## Committee members:

Shirley Aamidor, Valarie Akerson, William Boone, Don Cunningham, Beatriz D'Ambrosio, Diana Lambdin, Mary McMullen, Tom Schwen, Allison Shay Witt, Barbara Wolf, Unofficial Karen Hawlett