## **MEMORANDUM**

To: Policy Council

From: Jonathan Purvis

Executive Director, Development and Alumni Relations

Date: April 20, 2011

Re: 2011 Distinguished Alumni Award Committee

The Distinguished Alumni Award Committee met on Monday, March 21 to review this year's eight nominees. Attending members included Jamia Jacobsen, Mitzi Lewison, Mike Molenda, Roberta Partenheimer, Jesse Steinfeldt, and Michelle Stuckey. Lynne Boyle-Baise, Larry Brown, Michael Cohen, Theresa Ochoa, and Barbara Wilcox were unable to attend.

After thoughtful deliberation of eight strong candidates, the committee unanimously agreed to forward three individuals for approval by Dean Gonzalez. All three nominees were approved by the dean, and all three have accepted the award.

This year's recipients for the Indiana University School of Education Distinguished Alumni Award are:

## Dr. Christine O. Cheney

Dean, School of Education and Professor of Special Education University of Nevada-Reno

## **Dr. James Mervilde**

Superintendent of Schools

Metropolitan School District of Washington Township

Dr. Wellesley R. "Rob" Foshay (acceptance pending)

Director

The Foshay Group

It is the practice of the committee to consider nominations for two consecutive years. Of the remaining 2011 nominees, all will be reconsidered for a 2012 award along with any new nominations submitted for the year.

The 2011 recipients will be honored at a reception and banquet to be held on September 23, 2011 at 6:00 pm in Bloomington.

For 2012, the Distinguished Alumni Award will no longer be a Policy Council committee. The current committee members will meet over the summer to discuss details for making this transition.