To: School of Education Policy Council

From: Sarah Baumgart

Date: April 10, 2009

Subj: 2008-09 Distinguished Alumni Award Committee

The Distinguished Alumni Award (DAA) Committee met on March 9, 2009 to select the 2009 DAA recipients. Committee members present were: Larry Brown, Dionne Danns, Lynn Gilman, George Kuh, Mitzi Lewison, Mike Molenda, Bobbie Partenheimer, Jess Steinfeldt, and Sarah Baumgart. Lynn Boyle Baise and Jan Williamson were absent. Barbara Wilcox and Cathy Brown resigned from the committee prior to its meeting expressing concern about the size of the committee.

The committee reviewed six strong nominations. Three individuals and one alternate were recommended to and approved by Dean Gonzalez. All three of the nominees subsequently accepted the School's invitation to be honored in 2009. They are:

Young Hwan Kim, Professor of Education & Chair of Educational Technology Division, Pusan National University, S. Korea. On-campus host will be Mike Molenda

Joseph Russell, Executive VP & Consultant, DLM Virginia Corporation, Adult Residential Care Communities. On-campus host will be Larry Brown

H.A.R. Tilaar, Professor Emeritus, State University of Jakarta. On-campus host will be Peg Sutton

Of the remaining three nominees for 2009, one will be reconsidered for a 2010 award along with any new nominations submitted for the year. It is our practice to reconsider nominees for a second year.

The 2009 recipients will be honored at a reception and banquet to be held on September 11, 2009 at 6:00 pm in Bloomington.

The committee also discussed the pool of nominees which lacked alumni representing K-12 schools. It was suggested that the "call for nominations" memo might warrant change to encourage more nominations of classroom teachers and administrators. I will pursue this prior to the 2010 process.