To: IU School of Education Policy Council

From: Sarah Baumgart

Date: April 28, 2008

Subj: 2007-08 Distinguished Alumni Award Committee

The Distinguished Alumni Award (DAA) Committee met on April 24, 2008 to select the 2008 DAA recipients. Committee members present were: Michael Cohen, Jack Cummings, Dionne Danns, Lynn Gilman, George Kuh, Tyrone Freeman and Sarah Baumgart. Alumni Board President, Matt Walsh, was absent.

The committee reviewed six very strong nominations. Two individuals were recommended to and approved by Dean Gonzalez. Please note that at this time, the selections are confidential. We are in the process of notifying those selected as well as contacting nominators whose nominees were not chosen this year.

One 2007 nominee deferred to 2008. He is: **Rodney Kirsch**, MS '82 Col Student Personnel, VP for Development and Alumni Relations, Penn State University

On October 4, 2008 the School of Education and its Alumni Board will honor the 2008 recipients.

It is the practice of the committee to consider nominations for two consecutive years. Of the remaining nominees for 2008, three will be reconsidered for a 2009 award along with any new nominations submitted for the year.

Other business: The School of Education is the only IUB academic unit that handles its alumni awards through its faculty governance process. Likewise, via a listsery, I surveyed 33 schools and colleges of education around the country. Ten institutions responded. None reported a similar process to ours. All reported that the dean has the opportunity to select individuals, nominated or not, for alumni awards. In light of this, I asked the committee to consider giving our dean the latitude his peers have, to select a recipient who for some reason may not formally come before the committee. After some discussion, the committee felt that the dean should nominate individuals through the formal process for committee review unless timing and/or special circumstance dictate otherwise. In these unusual circumstances, members felt that the dean could select an individual outside the process.

As a final recommendation from me, I would like to again suggest that the Distinguished Alumni Award Committee include emeritus faculty. Prior to this committee being governed by Policy Council, the committee was primarily comprised of emeritus faculty. They bring to the selection process an important historical knowledge about the school as well as the many professionals and professions in the field of education and human development.