MEMORANDUM

To: School of Education Policy Council

From: Sarah Baumgart

Date: April 20, 2007

Subj: 2006-07 Distinguished Alumni Award Committee

The Distinguished Alumni Award (DAA) Committee met on March 5, 2007 to select the 2007 DAA recipients. Committee members present were: Michael Cohen, Jack Cummings, Lynn Gilman, George Kuh, Shawn Smith, Vasti Torres, Denise Wyatt and Sarah Baumgart. Tyrone Freeman was absent.

The committee reviewed eight very strong nominations. To adjust for nominees with schedule conflicts, ultimately five individuals were recommended to and approved by Dean Gonzalez. Four nominees accepted the School's invitation to be honored for 2007. One nominee deferred to 2008. They are:

2007

B. James Dawson, EdD '84 Higher Education, President, Coker College

Michael L. Hanes, PhD '73 Educational Psychology, President & CEO Whitaker Center for Science & the Arts Nathaniel Jones, EdS '82 School Admin, MS '77 Elem Educ, BS '73 Elem Educ, Superintendent of Pike Township Indianapolis

Patricia Lather, PhD '83 Curriculum & Instruction, Professor-School of Educational Policy and Leadership, The Ohio State University

Deferred to 2008

Rodney Kirsch, MS '82 Col Student Personnel, VP for Development and Alumni Relations, Penn State University

It is the practice of the committee to consider nominations for two consecutive years. Of the remaining three nominees for 2007, all will be reconsidered for a 2008 award along with any new nominations submitted for the year.

The 2007 recipients will be honored at a reception and banquet to be held on October 12, 2007 at 6:30 pm in Bloomington.

The Committee made no recommendations for changing the process or nomination format in 2008.

baumgar@indiana.edu phone: 812-856-8005 toll free: 877-856-8005 fax: 812-856-8088