## **MEMORANDUM**

**To:** School of Education Policy Council

From: Sarah Baumgart

**Date:** April 19, 2005

**Subj:** 2004-05 Distinguished Alumni Award Committee

The Distinguished Alumni Award (DAA) Committee met on February 28, 2005 to select the 2005 DAA recipients. Committee members present were: Jerry Harste, Sam Guskin, Richard Nourie, Lupe Valtierra, and Sarah Baumgart. Voting in absentia was Mike Molenda. Unable to attend were Michael Cohen, Carol-Anne Hossler, and Tyrone Freeman.

The committee reviewed eight nominations. Three individuals were recommended to and approved by Dean Gonzalez. All accepted the School's invitation to be honored. They are:

Victor Boschini, Chancellor, Texas Christian University (EdD '89, Higher Ed)
Dale Fuqua, Regents Professor, College of Education, Oklahoma State
University (PhD '80, Counseling)

Sivasailam "Thiagi" Thiagarajan, President & CEO, The Thiagi Group (PhD '71, IST)

It is the practice of the committee to consider nominations for two consecutive years. Of the remaining five nominees in 2005, four will be reconsidered in 2006 and the fifth will be removed from consideration. One committee member suggested I encourage the nominator to resubmit the nomination for the individual who has already been considered twice. He acknowledged that this individual is a strong candidate but that the competition was especially keen again this year.

The 2005 recipients will be honored at a reception and banquet to be held on September 16, 2005 at 6:30 pm in Bloomington. Faculty hosts are:

George Kuh (Boschini) Tom Froehle (Fuqua) Mike Molenda (Thiagarajan)

The Committee made no recommendations for changing the process or nomination format in 2006.

baumgar@indiana.edu phone: 812-856-8005 toll free: 877-856-8005 fax: 812-856-8088