MEMORANDUM

To: School of Education Policy Council

From: Sarah Baumgart

Chair, Distinguished Alumni Award Committee

Date: April 26, 2004

Subj: 2003-04 Distinguished Alumni Award Committee

The Distinguished Alumni Award Committee met on February 24, 2004 to select the 2004 recipients. Members of the committee are Leo Fay, Judy Fraps (Alumni Board President), Samuel Guskin, Theresa Ochoa, Susan Whiston, Barbara Wilcox, and Sarah Baumgart.

The committee reviewed four nominations selecting two recipients for 2004. The 2004 recipients are Rick Crosslin, MS '81, Grade 4 Teacher at Chapel Glen Elementary School currently on sabbatical with The Children's Museum, as School Liaison for Science Learning and Bonnie Litwiller, EdD '68, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, Mathematics Department, University of Northern Iowa.

The recipients will be recognized at the annual Distinguished Alumni Award banquet scheduled for September 10, 2004 in the W.W. Wright Education Building.

While the committee recognized that the remaining two nominees were individuals worthy of consideration, they felt that additional information would strengthen the nominations. The committee requested that Sarah encourage the nominators to resubmit their nominations for 2005 with additional information. Regardless of resubmission, these individuals will be considered a second time, in 2005, as per our normal procedure.

The changes recommended last year for streamlining the written nominations did in fact meet the committee's expectation of providing parallel information on each nomination. The new format is a single page outline or bullet point type configuration listing accomplishments by the categories considered by the committee. The categories include but are not limited to career history, leadership positions, awards/honors, service, and professional accomplishments.

The committee agreed to continue with this new format for 2005.

baumgar@indiana.edu phone: 812-856-8005 toll free: 877-856-8005 fax: 812-856-8088