## Literacy, Culture and Language Education Guidelines for Department Chair Selection \*

According to the Constitution of the Faculty of the School of Education, all tenured faculty, tenure probationary faculty, or clinical faculty are voting members and can participate in the chair selection of the department.

**LCLE tenured faculty**: Donna Adomat, Serafin Coronel-Molina, Carmen Medina, Stephanie Power-Carter, James Damico, Mary Beth Hines, Mitzi Lewison, Martha Nyikos, Faridah Pawan, Karen Wohlwend

Clinical Faculty: Sharon Daley and Ray Smith

Tenure-Track Faculty: Ted Hall and Beth Samuelson

Faculty Previously Serving as Chair: Hines, Mikulecky, and Nyikos

## **Nomination Process**

• The departmental faculty will meet with the Dean.

• The departmental faculty will have open meetings to discuss possible candidates and procedures. Meetings can occur via e-mail, phone, in-person, or a combination there of.

• The department will nominate a minimum of three candidates (SEE CANDIDACY) and proceed with a vote (SEE VOTING PROCEDURE).

## **Candidacy**

• Each candidate must be tenured in order to be eligible for the LCLE Chair position.

• Each candidate can write an optional paragraph detailing his/her strengths as a future leader of the department. This information will be disseminated to voting participants.

• Each candidate should be aware that the nomination decision is final once every faculty member has voted.

• The Dean will be sent a list of the candidates as well as each candidate's paragraph detailing his/her strengths as a future leader.

## **Voting Procedure**

• The department will designate a day and a time for all participants to cast their votes.

• Faculty members will vote by secret ballot. A drop box will be placed in a monitored location.

• Voting members will cast their votes by indicating their choice for chair along with a short explanation of the rationale for their vote.

• All participants in the voting process will be asked to place their initials on a roster as they cast their votes. However, participants who are unable to vote in person may vote via e-mail, proxy, or phone.

• Votes will be counted during a department meeting. Each of the top three candidates will be ranked in terms of the number of votes that he or she received.

• The Dean and voting participants will be sent vote totals and summaries of reasons for supporting candidates.